Mexican Laws

The history of Mexican laws can be traced back to the sixteenth century, evolving in conjunction with the historical epochs of the country. The indigenous laws of the Pre-Colombian era and the Spanish laws provided the necessary foundation for the development of laws in Mexico.
When the Spanish conquered the country, they discovered that the indigenous legal structure was quite developed. Retaining specific ethnic Mexico laws that were in tune with the Spanish practices and Church philosophies, The Spanish Crown introduced certain new legal institutions and laws.

Significant developments have taken place in the laws of Mexico, with the adoption of the Mexican Constitution. The present Constitution is the one adopted in 1917 and is officially known as the Political Constitution of the United Mexican States. The legal system of Mexico rests on the Federal Constitution that is considered to be the origin of all major Mexican laws.

As specified by the 1927 Constitution, Mexico is a federal republic with judicial, legislative and executive branches exercising their specific powers. In accordance with the Constitution of Mexico, some categories of Mexican laws can be promulgated by the Executive Branch. The President of Mexico, by the powers bestowed by the Congress, can initiate decrees in specific financial and economic domains. The Judiciary of the country is guided by the Organic Law, embodied in the Federal Judiciary and also Articles ranging from 94 to 107. The appellate jurisdiction of the Supreme Court extends over all federal and state courts.

The Chamber of Deputies and Senate constitute the legislative branch. As provided by the Mexican Constitution, the power to introduce bills regarding taxes, loans and troop requirements rests solely with the Chamber of Deputies. However, practice differs from theory. In addition to the Constitution of Mexico, Mexican Civil Code is another important law of the country. Mexican laws are characterized by a hierarchy. At the highest level there is the Constitution, followed by the legislation, regulation and customs.